Some Good Books For Writers: 2012

I heard recently on NPR (National Public Radio) that the average American read a grand total of six books in the year 2012.

This started me thinking. And counting. And eventually it became a challenge to see just how many books I could remember reading this past year, and since “praise is the culmination of joy” I thought I’d share with you my list of books which touch specifically on some different aspects of writing.

From books teaching craft and technique to inspirational biographies and memoirs, here’s a list of books that inspired me to keep writing in the year 2012.

Technique

Characters and Viewpoint, by Orson Scott Card – Card has the heart of a true teacher and is able to combine with it years of writing experience. As a consummate professional, there are few tricks Card doesn’t know about character creation, from the standpoint of an actual creator/author. His explanations of how to guide your reader as they view the character you’ve created for them is unparalleled in my experience, and have been extraordinarily helpful in my own fiction. Go to his website and click on the Writing Lessons tab at the top for just a taste, by clicking here http://www.hatrack.com/

Rules for the Dance, by Mary Oliver – Starting from the sheer basics, accomplished poet Mary Oliver takes us through the world of metrical poetry. Explaining the concepts of metre, rhyme, breath, and much more so clearly even a beginning poet can understand them, she brings new appreciation to an ancient tradition.

Problogger, by Darren Rowse and Chris Garrett – The site is legendary among bloggers, for good reason. The sheer wealth of information on this site is literally overwhelming. This book compacts and condenses a good bit of the advice to be found at the Problogger website, and has an excellent, practical guide to writing powerful blog content. Ideas, categories, and tips: it’s all here. View the blog, here http://www.problogger.net/

An Experiment in Criticism, by C.S. Lewis – Strong readers make for strong writers, and C.S. Lewis wrote a true classic on reading technique. Read it, and then allow this book to completely bend the way you view the way people read books, then wonder at the implications his experiment has for us as writers.

Biographies

Will in the World, by Stephan Greenblatt – Few stories are as inspirational to me as a writer than that of Shakespeare’s life. With a pregnant wife, and an itchy foot, he makes his way to London and becomes the greatest author in the history of the English language. Greenblatt weaves an excellent account of Shakespeare as a man of the theatre, and presents him in conjunction with what must have been pivotal moments in his life and the world around him. A must read for any writer feeling down on their luck and looking for a reason to keep writing.

I. Asimov, by Isaac Asimov – As the most published author in America, who better to show us the way than a man who’s written over 400 books? A memoir of a great man and a brilliant writer who will always model for me the art of clarity in writing; I highly recommend his accounts of the early years of science fiction.

The Education of a Wandering Man, by Louis L’Amour – Mr. L’Amour shares with us his love of reading and, especially, his love of learning. Both are infectious and I guarantee you’ll look up from this memoir wanting to do nothing but read and read and read. From his years as a wandering laborer to his years on a ship, to his enormous popularity as an author, he never lost his zest for learning.

Fiction

My Name Is Asher Lev, by Chaim Potok – The fiction I’ve read this year would take an entire blog post in and of itself, but Asher Lev is special. Though Lev himself is a painter, not a writer, the vision of Art presented is fascinating and well worth your read, as are the splendid cast of characters and the incredible way Potok weaves them all together. You don’t want to miss this one.

Business

The Well-Fed Writer, by Peter Bowerman – Interested in making money from your writing? Bowerman teaches us how to build a successful freelance, commercial writing business from the ground up. Not too many writing tips here, but when it comes to building a business it’s an excellent starting point. His blog, The Well Fed Writer, isn’t bad either. Check it out by clicking here, http://www.wellfedwriter.com/blog/

Secrets of a Freelance Writer, by Bob Bly – Bob Bly is the go-to guy for all things commercial writing. He’s written dozens of books on how to become a successful business writer and Secrets of a Freelance Writer is the perfect start-up kit. I still keep it handy for those moments when I have a question on client procedure, or pricing, or a whole host of other little questions that suddenly loom very large in the moment. If you want to go the commercial route, there are few equals and none better.

****

This is in no way an exhaustive list. There are many and more that I could share, with these merely being the highlights. Have any books of your own you think other writers should know about? Encountered any of the books on my list yourself? Leave a comment and let us know what you’ve read and learned this past year!

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Some Good Books For Writers: 2012

  1. Alison D. says:

    Thanks for sharing! I might check a few of these out. Characters and Viewpoint, by Orson Scott Card, looks particularly interesting.

  2. Freedomborn says:

    Hi Jordon, thank you for those Book references, it is helpful to see the focus others run with and their resulting thinking and actions.

    To me reading is a blessing that has been an important part of my life since my Teenage years although now it is mainly Scripture and all types of Blogs messages that I read. At 12 years of age I could not read or write or tell the time, when they realized I was Dyslectic and not Mentally challenged, they suggested that I read in volume to help my formation of words and to recognize their character, I also did Elocution and Drama to help my speech and so I read up to 5 books a week for many years even as a Christian but I then focused on those who shared Christianity, but also read about Cults and different Religions, Science and Christian Poetry and Fiction Stories, both of which I also compose as well as Sharing God’s Truth by the written word and of course also verbally as I’m an anointed Evangelist .

    With having been an Atheist for almost 30 years, my focus then was the Occult and New age Teaching and unproven Evolution theories and of course Mills and Boon, but I also loved History and Life Testimonies all types, I have read and Playacted many of Shakespeare’s works and other popular and well known writers both past and present and studied Philosophy and Psychology.

    Being Dyslectic and only on one side of my Brain does presents problems but also has blessings, I’m very Creative and Analytical, Gifts from God for which I’m very thankful. I can speed read but I cannot write fluently although my content is with The Spirits Leading as the Lord Teaches me. I still make many mistakes in spelling, grammar and punctuation and I often write backwards.. you would say the Cat sat on the mat, I would say the mat the cat sat on, both saying the same thing but yours flows … yes I am indeed a cracked vessel, thankfully God is the Super Glue.

    Thanks Jordon for the opportunity to share – Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

Leave a Reply

